mother on the edge

a resource for families around the Cerritos, CA area, hopefully…

SJSCC

on April 25, 2012

SJS what? Yes, that stands for the Southeast Japanese School and Community Center.  This community center has been around since 1925.  They are a non-profit organization with a variety of activities that are open to anyone regardless of race or religion.  Even though they’ve been around for almost a decade, we just learned of this organization last year when my son participated in their Rascals program.  Rascals is a basketball program that teaches young kids the fundamentals of basketball. Kids are divided into groups by gender and age.  They have just started accepting applications for the Summer session, which begins on June 3rd.  If you are interested, applications are due by May 15th.  You can download the application from their website. Space is limited and this program is very popular so turn in your applications soon!  Don’t be lame like me–I missed the deadline last fall so my son didn’t get to play. oops.

SJSCC also offers a variety of other programs.  I have not personally experienced any of them with the exception of Rascals but my friends have and say they are a blast.

5 responses to “SJSCC

  1. Mikalisa says:

    THIS is gr8!! Thanx!! I went 2 J-school there!! Oh, the memories!!:)

  2. Cheryl says:

    Thanks for your post. What was your experience like in terms of time commitment? how did the kids like it? My kids did the Tiggers basketball clinic last summer and loved it and I’m wondering if I should sign them up for Rascals,

    • motheronedge says:

      Hi Cheryl,

      When my son was in Rascals, there wasn’t any time commitment except the time watching them play, which was 1 1/2 hrs. Parents are only required to volunteer once their kids join a team in the 2nd grade. I was apprehensive as well about how much time it would entail, but so far it has not been an issue. For most of the events, they only require one parent from each team to be present so you just rotate with the other parents on your team.

      When he was in Rascals, he liked it when they would scrimmage, which was the second half of the session. During the first half when they are covering fundamentals, he would get a little bored sometimes. I still ask him whether he likes playing and he still does so I think that speaks for itself.

Leave me a note:

